Published On: Fri, Feb 25th, 2011

UN Security Council Returns to Libya Crisis

Smiley face
Share This

United Nations(ANN)For the second time in three days, the UN Security Council is discussing how it should respond to the crisis that is shaking Libya.
The session was convened after a series of informal discussions on Thursday among representatives of the 15 member states of the

Security Council, which is being presided over in February by Brazilian ambassador María Luiza Ribeiro Viotti.

The discussion is marked by an official declaration by the Russian government, one of the permanent members of the Council, which reiterated Moscowâ?Ös opposition to any foreign intervention in Libyan affairs.

That stance includes the refusal to impose economic sanctions on Libya, according to Russian Foreign Ministry spokesman Alexander Lukashevich.

Moscowâ?Ös statements put a check on the increasing demands of the United States, France, Britain (also permanent Council members) and Germany for more vigorous actions against the government of Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi.

Russia says the solution to the crisis should be sought within legal norms and via dialogue between the conflicting sides, and never through violence.

In the Friday session, the Security Council will hear a report from the UN Secretariat on the evolution of events in Libya, where Gaddafi called for national unity on Thursday.

Gaddafi said the crisis was the result of foreign forces inciting chaos and rebellion, and he directly accused the Al Qaeda network of being responsible.

On Tuesday, the Security Council condemned the violence in Libya, asked for an immediate halt and called on authorities to protect the people and peaceful demonstrations.

In a unanimous statement, the council regretted the death of civilians and urged that steps be taken to satisfy the legitimate demands of the Libyan people.

The statement asked the Libyan government to assume its responsibilities, respect human rights and international humanitarian law, and allow the entry into Libya of observers and aid agencies.

The Council comprises the United Stats, France, Russia, Britain and China, as permanent members, and Brazil, Colombia, Lebanon, Nigeria, Gabon, Portugal, Bosnia and Herzegovina, India, South Africa and Germany as non-permanent members.

Araweelonews Mobile
Somaliland Office
E-mail; Info@araweelonews.com

About the Author


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>